A Creed for Humanity

23 06 2010

I value the act of unconditionally accepting EVERY person I  encounter in this world.. friend or stranger, similar or different.. Regardless of age, personality, flaws, faults or even bad choices they may have made. While I may be aware of their failings, I recognize that the failings I see so easily in others are, more often than not, far smaller than those present  in myself.

While I love my family and friends in a special way – a different way – I  affirm the inherent worth and value of strangers just as much as that of those I hold dear.. I refuse to demean, to gossip or put another human being down.. in their presence, or in their absence. The only criticism I utter will be constructive words that encourage change, spoken to their face. I will give them the dignity of seeing the best in them, overlooking the negatives, emphasizing the positives.. and remembering that they too have people they love and would die for, secret hopes, dreams and memories, joy, pain and fears, things they dislike about themselves and long to change, things they wish they could be – and things they could be, if only they were encouraged enough.

And I realise that I never know how much I may find myself in need of that very same stranger’s goodwill one day.

I see every person I meet as a soul created unique, with infinite value and destined to live with purpose.. If they have lost sight of this or lost their way, I will not judge them or leave them on the road of life as I pass by; I will rather be a light illuminating their darkness, a sign of hope pointing the way to a future of transformation, discovery, realization and freedom.

I REFUSE TO UNDERESTIMATE THE IMPACT THAT MY LIFE HAS ON OTHERS AND ON THIS WORLD.

There are many in the world who are dying for a piece of bread, but there are many more dying for a little love. I am a little pencil in the hand of a writing God who is sending a love letter to the world.  ~Mother Teresa

“You’ve heard the saying, ‘Love your neighbour and hate your enemy’. But I say, love your enemies! …That way, you’ll be acting as true children of God. For he gives his sunlight to both the evil and the good, and he sends rain on the just and the unjust alike. If you only love those who love you, what value is there in that? Even corrupt criminals do that. If you are kind only to your friends, how are you different from anyone else? Even the most immoral and heartless people in society do that.” ~Jesus

Love …believes the best in all things, hopes all things… ~The Bible

If we could all hear one another’s prayers, God might be relieved of some of his burdens.  ~Ashleigh Brilliant

Dare to reach out your hand into the darkness, to pull another hand into the light.  ~Norman B. Rice

God has not called us to see through each other, but to see each other through.  ~Author Unknown

Wherever a man turns he can find someone who needs him.  ~Albert Schweitzer

He has the right to criticize who has the heart to help.  ~Abraham Lincoln

He who gives when he is asked has waited too long.  ~ Author Unknown

Charity sees the need, not the cause.  ~German Proverb


Actions

Information

2 responses

30 03 2014
Julia Ouzts

I really enjoy this blog. I am 43 years old and this is the first time I ever left a comment. Your message came to me at the right moment in my life.

30 03 2014
Quinton McCauley

I am so glad it spoke to you! Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂 Quinton

Leave a comment