Fight Club and You

2 12 2009

Fight Club, starring Edward Norton and Brad Pitt, is one of my favourite movies of all time. The quotable quotes in it are innumerable. I’ve collected and adapted some of my favourites here, for a challenging, splash-of-icy-water read. Check it out. And see if you can’t live a little differently, from now on 😉

Quinton

***

It used to be enough that when I came home angry and knowing that my life wasn’t toeing my five-year plan, I could clean my apartment or detail my car. Someday I’d be dead, without a scar. And there would be a really nice condo and car.

Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy crap we don’t need. You are not your job. You are not how much money you have in the bank. You are not the car you drive. You are not the contents of your wallet. You are not your frickin sunglasses. You’re the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the world.

For thousands of years, human beings has screwed up and trashed and crapped on this planet, and now history expects me to clean up after everyone. I have to wash out and flatten my soup cans. And account for every drop of used motor oil. And I have to foot the bill for nuclear waste and buried gasoline tanks and landfilled toxic sludge dumped a generation before I was born.

Imagine blasting the world free of modern history. Picture yourself planting radishes and seed potatoes on the fifteenth green of a forgotten golf course. You’d hunt elk through the damp canyon forests around the ruins of Rockefeller Center, and dig clams next to the skeleton of the Space Needle leaning at a forty-five degree angle. We’d paint the skyscrapers with huge totem faces and goblin tikis, and every evening what’s left of mankind will retreat to empty zoos and lock itself in cages as protection against the bears and big cats and wolves that pace and watch us from outside the cage bars at night.

Get lost with your beige sofa units and melon green stripe patterns, I say.

Never be complete, I say.

Stop being perfect. Let’s… let’s evolve, let the chips fall where they may.

On a large enough time line, the survival rate for everyone will drop to zero. This is your life, and it’s ending one minute at a time.

WHAT ARE YOU GONNA DO WITH IT?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

