4 Ways to Eat Your Fear

1 12 2009

I came across an inspiring article by Robin Sharma just today, about breaking through comfort zones. A good question to challenge yourself with regularly is, “What would I like to be doing right now, but am not, because fear is holding me back?”

To rephrase a popular quote: “to fear is human.” We are all afraid of certain things and all of us, to varying extents, allow those fears to hold us back from fulfilling our true potential. Fear of the unknown, fear of change, fear of others and what they think.. fear of failure, success, responsibility, disappointment, danger (or perceived danger). Author, speaker and life coach Anthony Robbins says F.E.A.R. is, more often than not, “False Evidence Appearing Real.” So many exciting, rewarding things, are nowhere near as risky as we think they are!

Consider something you’ve wanted to do for a long time, but haven’t. If you can’t think of anything, you may have to dig a little deeper. Sometimes we don’t want to admit to ourselves that we WANT to do something, because we don’t like the thought that we are not following through with it. Either way, find at least one “thing”, and start looking at ways to DO it – instead of reasons to NOT do it. People at the end of their lives nearly always regret the things they didn’t do, more than the things they did. You have incredible potential. Don’t leave it unfulfilled!

Article by Robin Sharma (international leadership coach, author and speaker) is below. Enjoy.

Quinton

**

If you’ve been following me online, you’ll know I’m down here in New Zealand chasing Winter and skiing great snow. This morning I hiked up one of the peaks at “The Remarkables” and then skied down it. Was I scared? Yes (don’t let the smile fool you). Was I committed to stretching beyond my comfort zone so I could grow as a skier. Definitely. So ate my fear. And skied down the mountain.

Just a ton of lessons I want to share with you from this morning’s experience. Here are my best 4:

1. Staying within your comfort zone is a waste of time. Whether on a mountain or within a life. Why? Because though you’re not frightened, you’re also not growing and improving.

2. Don’t let your mind keep you small. As I climbed closer to the peak and the air got thinner, my mental chatter grew louder. “What if you fall off this mountain?” “Maybe you’re not good enough to ski this.” “You could be in trouble up here.” I just switched it off and got down to business. Just focused on getting to where I needed to go. Most fears are just a bunch of lies you’ve sold yourself anyway. So I refused to buy them.

3. We each have our own Everests. Maybe you’re facing a business challenge. Maybe you’re going through some really hard personal time. Maybe you’re just in a place where nothing seems to work. Don’t back down from your Everests because climbing them will take you to your next level of leadership and humanity. They are such precious gifts. Embrace them.

4. Reward the Win. When I got down, I scored myself a “Mountain Chocolate Muffin”. Sure, it may not have been the best thing for my body. But it definitely was the best thing for my soul. As I ate it, while sitting out on the deck overlooking more peaks, I celebrated my win. That reward anchored me to the positivity of tackling hard things. So now I’m ready for the next one.

Few things feel as good as doing something that challenged you deeply versus running back to comfort. I beat some fear this morning, bumped up my ski game and can’t wait for the next opportunity. To stretch, reach and grow.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

