Delivering On Your Promises

27 04 2009

Integrity...Robin Sharma, international leadership coach and author, writes:

 

Promise-keeping is a core success tactic of every true leader. They do what they say – not just say what they’ll do. And they do it in a way that reminds you of the best within people.

I had a wonderful dinner the other night with two very special friends of mine. As we spoke about everything from travel to Chinese art to design to entrepreneurship, one mentioned an article he’d just read. It sounded fascinating to me. And when it comes to a great idea, I try to leave not even one unread.

He generously said he’d send me the piece, seeing my passion for it. I hear this all the time. “I’ll send this book to you, you’ll love it” or “later today I’ll forward a link to that website I mentioned” or “my plan is to put that magazine in the mail.” Almost never comes.

As I was doing meetings with my team, someone walked into the foyer of our office. It was a cold rainy day and few were out on the streets. It was my friend. And he carried with him a fresh new package. And the promised article within it.

In an age when we are all so very busy just keeping up with full plates and overflowing lives, this man’s gesture spoke to me. We all have such integrity residing within us. He had the discipline, character-strength and kindness to exercise it.

And that’s what real leaders do.


SHARE this on FACEBOOK

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 04 2009
Kalyan

your blog is so insightful! bravo 🙂

29 04 2009
salviashish

Hey nice post,and its really true to become a promising leader one need to keep his words.

Leave a Reply

