Discovering diamonds

21 03 2009

Diamonds are forever

Stepping into line with the 21st Century…

After months of blogging on Facebook, and procrastinating setting up a proper blog, I have finally dragged myself by the ear (or hair, whichever fits best with your mental image), and uploaded myself to WORDPRESS.

So. What can you expect from this blog?

If all goes according to plan… posts here will include (among other things) motivation; inspiration; challenge. This blog is essentially ME preaching to mySELF and anyone else who happens to be passing by. Some people might find the positive focus one-sided. Talk is cheap, isn’t it? My response: you can’t practice what you preach, if you never preach.  You can’t acheive a goal if you haven’t defined it; it is impossible to reach a destination – and unlikely that you’ll head in the right direction – if you haven’t taken a map or made a plan, first.

So in view of that, the more motivation, wisdom, inspiration, and tellings-off you can get along the way, the better.

Why “1000 Diamonds”?

The “1000 Diamonds” idea came from one of my favourite songs, Wish You Were Here by Incubus:

I dig my toes into the sand
The ocean looks like a thousand diamonds
Strewn across a blue blanket
I lean against the wind
Pretend that I am weightless
And in this moment I am happy

I wish you were here

I lay my head onto the sand
The sky resembles a backlit canopy
With holes punched in it
I’m counting UFOs
I signal them with my lighter
And in this moment I am happy

(When was the last time you had an experience, by yourself, life this?)

Life’s a beach, they say. Sometimes I wonder if, in our 21st Century busyness, we’re so busy running along that beach to catch up with the people ahead of us, or just to reach the next landmark and set a new “personal best”, that we forget to look around and see the scenery of the world and the people around us. We also forget that, hidden in the sand beneath our feet, there are strewn thousands of diamonds – glittering jewels of wisdom, insight and inspiration for us to find if we but stoop down to look for them. Some of these diamonds are uncut, rough, and natural – gems of brilliance left for us by nature herself. These ones are the hardest to find, and require washing, cutting and polishing to bring out the shine of truth inside. Other diamonds are left there by those who have gone before us – some forgotten and dropped in the sand, and others carefully placed for us to find them, by other beach-walkers eager to share what they’ve picked up along the way, and keen to see a fellow-traveller discover something new.

1000 Diamonds. This blog aims to dig around and sift through the sands of experience and thought, and uncover some of these diamonds of wisdom, insight and inspiration, in order to present them to YOU. Hopefully every now and then, one or two of them will catch your eye and strike you in a way that sticks in your mind, uplifts you and helps you along your way for a while.

Some of these diamonds will be rough-cut thoughts of my own, freshly unearthed from my own experience; a little grubby, but still holding potential and maybe even value. Others will be jewels found, cut and polished by others who have displayed them elsewhere. Whichever diamonds catch your eye, I hope you take them, look at them, and benefit somehow from the discovery, appreciation, or deeper understanding of something valuable. The sands of time may disappear, but diamonds are forever.

Happy treasure hunting.

Quinton

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 03 2009
Mr WordPress

Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

11 04 2009
Memnfleew

rated site this 1000diamonds.wordpress.com rated to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

17 04 2009
Memnfleew

brill site this 1000diamonds.wordpress.com terrific to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

17 04 2009
qmcc001

Thanks Memn! Appreciate the feedback. New posts go up regularly – be sure to drop in from time to time.

🙂

Quinton

Leave a Reply

